This LTC course (formerly known as a CHL course), taught at our northwest Houston gun range, is required to obtain your Texas License to Carry permit. The class includes 4-6 hours of class room instruction, a 25 question written test, and a 50 round shooting qualification (shooting proficiency is NOT part of the 4-6 hours). Classroom instruction is to teach you the laws of when you may and may not carry your handgun, when you may and may not use it to defend yourself, your responsibilities regarding safe storage, non-violent resolution and more! This class does not in any way teach you how to accurately shoot, you MUST be proficient before this class. If you would like to schedule a private lesson before class to make sure you will be successful check out our private lesson link at the top of this page. Also available, is a private shooting qualification if you would rather do that one-on-one with an instructor. Again, see our private lessons page and register for a “pre-qualification”.
Price: $75 (Active Military is $25)
Gift Certificate for one LTC: Click Here (this certificate can only be redeemed for an LTC Class)
Private LTC Qualification
A private LTC shooting qualification appointment is for people who took the traditional class with us but want to do their shooting qualification separate from the rest of the class. This is NOT for students who took the class ONLINE. This appointment with one of our LTC instructors allows the student to NOT do the shooting qualification with the class group but one on one privately. This is a great add on bonus for any student ready to qualify privately for only $25.
Weekdays 9 a.m. – 2 p.m Saturdays 8 a.m. – 1 p.m. Evenings: 5 p.m. – 9 p.m.
Shooting Proficiency Test:
- 50 rounds shot from 3 different distances at a B-27 silhouette target
- 20 rounds fired at 9 ft
- 20 rounds fired at 21 ft
- 10 rounds fired at 45 ft
What to do before your LTC class:
- Visit the Texas Department of Public Safety
- Fill out online application for a License to Carry
- Pay the application fee to the state
- Print out the barcoded checklist
- Download the LTC 16 form
- Register for fingerprinting
- Target practice with your handgun
What you must bring to your LTC class in Houston:
- 50 rounds of ammunition
- Eye protection
- Ear protection
- Wear closed toe shoes
- Wear a baseball cap or a visor
- A black ink pen
- Your current driver’s license
- NO low-cut shirts/blouses
Please understand that the Texas LTC course does not include instruction on how to operate your handgun. You are expected to be proficient prior to attending class. If you are unsure of your shooting abilities or unfamiliar with the firearm you intend to use, you may consider taking a private lesson prior to attending class.
NOTE: Due to limited class room space and availability students must register in advance.
Are you eligible for a Texas License to Carry permit? GC §411.172. ELIGIBILITY on page 4 of the LTC 16
*** HW Gun Range requires a 48-hour advanced notice in the event the registrant needs to cancel his/her attendance from class. If we are not notified of your intent to cancel or transfer/postpone from your registered class, you will NOT receive a refund.
The Texas LTC Online course is certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety and is now available online, so you can complete the classroom portion (part one of two) on your PC, smartphone, or tablet. This course replaces the required 4-6 hour classroom portion of the course. What does that mean for you? No more classroom time for . With The Texas LTC Online Course, you can be anywhere in Texas and take the course anytime on your PC, tablet, or smartphone.
The Online LTC course is administered and licensed by The Texas LTC Online.com. This is a TEXAS License to Carry Course – NOT a Virginia Concealed handgun or any other states’ CHL course. The Texas LTC Online course is certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety. To sign up for the online class click here.
ENTER COUPON CODE: HWRange for a 10% discount
*Please note that this course DOES NOT replace the required shooting portion of the course (part two of two) which you will schedule upon completion of the course and upon receipt of your signed LTC 101 form. The state of Texas requires you spend 1-2 hours additional with a LTC Instructor for the range proficiency. To find availability for that see our private lesson appointments here.
If you choose the online version of certification, use the code above for a discount, take the online portion of the class then make your appointment to do the required 1-2 hours of range time with an instructor as a private lesson.
Q: Yes, this class satisfies the requirements for both open carry and concealed carry class (CHL) in Texas.
Q: No, renewal classes are no longer required by the state, simply renew online after receiving your letter from the state. If you have a valid LTC/CHL and would like to audit the class for your own continuing education, please call the range and we will get you added to an existing class.
(Cost: $0 if you took your original class with us, $25 if you took your class somewhere else)
Q: Yes, you can take a private lesson and do the shooting qualification then if you need guided practice. Schedule your shooting qualification by enrolling in a private lesson or simply a pre-qualification if you want to do the shooting portion separately but will not need any instruction.
Yes, the classroom instruction will cover everything students need to pass the written test. The written test has 25 questions.
Summary LTC Class:
This course is required to obtain your Texas License to Carry permit. The class includes 4-6 hours of classroom instruction, a 25 question written test, and a 50 round shooting qualification.